Death of London

Death of London (Function Records)


Death of London are Leicester boys Kris Tearse (drums / vox), Fraser West (keys), Scott West (guitar / vox) and David Wright. (guitar) The guys joined forces in 2007 from the ashes of their previous bands – TEAM, Maybeshewill and Balance of Silence.

In a very short space of time, Death of London have already achieved a great deal. The boys have had three releases – 7” A Pound. A Bite on Field Records, five-track EP Here’s to the Death of Death of London on Unlabel and three-track EP The Life and Death of Death of London on Robot Needs Home Records. They’ve even had airplay on Radio 1 and XFM thus proving Death of London are indeed one hard working band.

Now signed to Function Records the band released their third EP – The Independent State of Death of London – in April 2010. The EP showcases the band’s influences, ranging from Shellac to the Pixies to Nirvana. However, these influences don’t limit the band to one sound. Having shared a stage with Sepultura and Part Chimp, Death of London easily bridge the gap between alternative rock and metal. The EP received rave reviews from some of the rock and metal world's leading voices...

"Visceral and uncompromising artcore with the forward-thinking sensibilities of a band intent on making something that hasn’t been made before."
- Metal Hammer

""A dark, creepy, scary racket. Part Nirvana, part Pixies, part unholy. Fantastic."
- Bruce Dickinson, BBC 6 Music

The EP showcases their diverse style ranging from the sludgy sounds of grunge to the intertwining rock riffs akin to Tool. Death of London are definite ones to watch on the rock / metal scene and are sure to win you over with their talent for making sheer unabashed heavy music a delightfully rewarding listening pleasure.

Listen to Death of London

Death of London on tour