Poor Things

Poor Things


Scottish three-piece Poor Things released Hurricane Poor Things on 10th June via Vinyl Richie Records.

Consisting of Craig Angus (Guitar, Vocals), Richard Stratton (Bass, Guitar, Vocals) and Gavin Redford (Drums) the three-piece, originally from Perth, have been playing together for over ten years. Originally playing “Nirvana covers on Friday nights” whilst at school, Hurricane Poor Things is the bands third full release and was produced by Ross McGowan at Chime Studios.

The band cite Teenage Fanclub, Pavement and Grandaddy as influences, but their guitar driven alt-indie rock comes flavoured with euphoric moments similar to The Smashing Pumpkins, allied with melodies akin to the likes of Weezer. Bolstered by turbulent rolling drum beats and engulfed by high intensity guitar lines, Hurricane Poor Things comes as a battering of the senses - music in which the listener can lose all inhibition.

Opening track, ‘Beachcomber’, sets the scene well; with guitars and percussion going head to head in a duel. Craig Angus plays ringmaster to these behemoths, reigning them in with his honest and sincere lyrics. ‘Summer Clutch’ also comes across in a similar vein; with cloudy dappled guitar riffs and addictive melodies, Poor Things create perfect pop-rock moments in which to get dreamily caught up in.

Listen to Poor Things

Poor Things on tour